SLA Update: Defining Your Role

The Oklahoma Association of REALTORS® (OAR) is proud to have developed a strong, positive relationship with members of the legislature. Our State Legislative Advocates (SLA) enhance this connection by building our member’s personal relationship with their own state legislators. Outside the legislative session, OAR will send bi-weekly updates with insights, political notes and information specifically for our SLA’s so you can stay in the know about OAR’s advocacy for Oklahoma REALTORS®. During session, we will send weekly updates.

On the legislative front, there were 117 primaries for State House and State Senate. In those races, six incumbents lost re-election bids — Sen. Ervin Yen, Rep. Chuck Strohm, Rep. Scott McEachin, Rep. Steve Vaughan, Rep. Greg Babinec and Rep. Scooter Park. While 83 of those primaries led to a nominee, there will be 34 runoff elections in August (26 Republican and eight Democratic) including 10 House Republican incumbents:

Travis Dunlap
Tess Teague
George Faught
Bobby Cleveland
Mark Lawson
Sean Roberts
John Pfeiffer
Jeff Coody
Jadine Nollan
Mike Ritze

Additionally, when the dust settled, incumbent Rep. Kevin McDugle had a three-vote advantage over his Republican challenger, but the district had 10 provision ballots cast that will be examined and counted on Friday. Six races were decided and have no general election, including three new legislators:

Representative-elect Derrell Fincher (R – Bartlesville) will replace Earl Sears
Representative-elect Ken Luttrell (R – Ponca City) will replace Steve Vaughan
Representative-elect Mark VanCuren (REALTOR®) (R – Owasso) will replace Dale Derby
Rep. Harold Wright (R – Weatherford) won re-election
Rep. Rhonda Baker (R – Yukon) won re-election
Rep. Monroe Nichols (D – Tulsa) won re-election

Contact your legislators to let them know who you are: